Tuscan Kale and Lentil Soup

A vegetarian meal-in-one, this Tuscan Kale and Lentil Soup will keep you full for hours while also nourishing your body with plants! The perfect comforting bowl for a winter weeknight dinner or easy lunch.

A vegetarian meal-in-one, this Tuscan Kale and Lentil Soup will keep you full for hours while also nourishing your body with plants! The perfect comforting bowl for a winter weeknight dinner or easy lunch.

A vegetarian meal-in-one, this Tuscan Kale and Lentil Soup will keep you full for hours while also nourishing your body with plants! The perfect comforting bowl for a winter weeknight dinner or easy lunch.I’ll be honest with you guys, I was lacking some serious inspiration when I sat down to write this post. Not because of the recipe (which I love), or the photos (which I also love), but because sometimes you reach your creative limit and the thought of sitting down to write a post, no matter how long or short it is feels like running a marathon.

So I did what I also do when I’m feeling burnt out, I walked away. It’s taken me years to get to this point though. I used to try desperately to work through the current, even when I’m not feeling any kind of inspiration, because that’s what I thought “hustling” meant. It didn’t occur to me that sometimes doing less, is doing way more.

It was a long way to get here, but thankfully I changed my tune.A vegetarian meal-in-one, this Tuscan Kale and Lentil Soup will keep you full for hours while also nourishing your body with plants! The perfect comforting bowl for a winter weeknight dinner or easy lunch.When you do anything creative, burn-out is a very real thing. And when you do about 10 creative things on a daily basis, well let’s just say that by bedtime my brain is completely fried. But at the same time, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

A few days ago I had an enlightening conversation with a future podcast guest. We talked about how we’re both the type of people who would rather just do everything than deal with the work that comes with delegating. Sure, this makes me a total control freak, but I also REALLY don’t enjoy telling people what to do. Even though it can be stressful and overwhelming running a blog, a youtube channel, a podcast and everything else that comes with it, I also love what I do. But it also means respecting that sometimes I have to slow down and recognize that maybe I can’t do it all at the same time.

Take this soup recipe for example. I tested it multiple times, photographed it, edited the images, write in the recipe and typed up the post. I also had two podcast interviews this week, edited a podcast, shot two videos, edited two videos and wrote 3 other posts. So yeah, there’s a lot going on. So when I sat down to write this post and I had nothing in me, I knew it was time to take a break.
A vegetarian meal-in-one, this Tuscan Kale and Lentil Soup will keep you full for hours while also nourishing your body with plants! The perfect comforting bowl for a winter weeknight dinner or easy lunch.So what did I do? I walked. I grabbed the Bodhi man, threw on a podcast and I walked endlessly. The soup sat on the stovetop for two hours while I wandered the streets of our neighbourhood. I let my mind relax and think about anything besides work. When I got home, I made myself a cup of tea and shuffled through a new cookbook I got and let myself be inspired. I then did a quick yoga flow and finally sat down at my computer. And well, here I am. Writing about what ended up being a really great day.

Less is more. Less is more.

Except when it comes to this soup. More is definitely more.

Tuscan Kale and Lentil Soup

Prep time:  10 mins

Cook time:  45 mins

Total time:  55 mins

Serves: 8 bowls

Ingredients
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 large sweet potato (about 4 cups), chopped (I love using yam which is also delicious!)
  • 1 1/2 cups red split lentils (uncooked)
  • 8 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 28 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 head tuscan kale, destemmed and chopped (regular kale is fine too)
  • 2 tsp red wine vinegar

Instructions
  1. Add olive oil to a large stock pot and bring to medium heat.
  2. Add in onion and cook for 3-5 mins or until translucent.
  3. Add in celery and garlic and cook for 2 more mins.
  4. Stir in sweet potato and lentils.
  5. Top with vegetable broth and diced tomatoes.
  6. Stir in spices and salt and pepper and bring to a boil.
  7. Lower heat to a simmer and cook for 40 mins.
  8. Stir in kale and red wine vinegar and cook for 5 more mins or until kale has wilted.
  9. Serve warm.
  10. Keep for up to 1 week in an airtight container or freeze for up to 6 months.

3.5.3226

A vegetarian meal-in-one, this Tuscan Kale and Lentil Soup will keep you full for hours while also nourishing your body with plants! The perfect comforting bowl for a winter weeknight dinner or easy lunch.

What do you do when you’re feeling burnt out?

The post Tuscan Kale and Lentil Soup appeared first on The Healthy Maven.



Source: http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheHealthyMaven/~3/Ffik51QnTrg/tuscan-kale-and-lentil-soup.html

Leave a Reply

