Zucchini and Ricotta White Pizza

Change up your pizza night with this zucchini and ricotta pizza. We think we need tomato sauce, but you really don't! This combo will definitely change your mind.

Change up your pizza night with this zucchini and ricotta pizza. We think we need tomato sauce, but you really don’t! This combo will definitely change your mind.

Change up your pizza night with this zucchini and ricotta pizza. We think we need tomato sauce, but you really don't! This combo will definitely change your mind.

You know those nights when you just can’t fathom the idea of cooking dinner, but you don’t want another takeout meal? Hi! That’s me at least once a week and if you follow me on Instagram stories you know that my cure to this problem is PIZZA NIGHT!

I’m not sure why, but for a while we reserved pizza night for special occasions. My guess is that since pizza isn’t always deemed the “healthiest” food on the block, even I developed guilty feelings around it. And well, if I have any kind of messed up relationship with food, you know I need to tackle that stuff head on. Because let’s be real, a life without pizza is one sad life indeed.

So I decided to experiment with recipes and see how I could bring more pizza back into my life. In the process, I also discovered how easy it is to make for a quick, weeknight dinner. That is if you have some pizza dough on hand already.

Change up your pizza night with this zucchini and ricotta pizza. We think we need tomato sauce, but you really don't! This combo will definitely change your mind.

So I figured I’d share my pizza hacks with you:

Hack #1: Don’t feel you have to make the dough yourself. This was a big barrier for me. After my last bread-making attempts, I realized that maybe I should lay low on the yeast and leave the work up to the professionals. It’s totally cool to buy pre-made dough or crust!

Hack #2: Stock up on dough. When I buy pizza dough, I actually buy several of them and store them in the freezer. Then I take one out an hour before I plan to make the pizza to let it thaw. This means that I am always prepared should I want to whip one up.

Hack #3: Quality matters. Now I know that not everyone has access to a local, sourdough bakery (they’re basically on every street corner in San Francisco!), but try to pick a better quality dough. Maybe that means reaching for whole wheat or a boxed brand like Simple Mills that does a great grain-free crust. Same goes for the veggies and cheese!

Hack #4: Fill half your plate with veggies and the other half with pizza. This is how I roll and if you’ve followed my Instagram shenanigans you know this to be the case. I always whip up a salad when I’m making pizza to ensure I’m also getting in my greens. Plus the pizza has zucchini so it’s basically a superfood.

Change up your pizza night with this zucchini and ricotta pizza. We think we need tomato sauce, but you really don't! This combo will definitely change your mind.

If my healthy hack arguments didn’t convince you, maybe this will. This meal LITERALLY takes 30 minutes to put together and only about 10 mins of work. Once you have the crust rolled out it’s just a matter of sprinkling on the ingredients and baking the pizza. If you’re a lazy weeknight eater or don’t meal prep like me, this recipe is your calling.

Or maybe you’re not a big red sauce kinda pizza person…Again, this zucchini and ricotta pizza is for you. But really, when in doubt, pizza is always the answer. I’m convinced of it!

If you make this recipe let me know by tagging it with #thehealthymaven or @thehealthymaven. It just lets me know so I can checkout your creations!

Zucchini and Ricotta White Pizza

Prep time:  10 mins

Cook time:  20 mins

Total time:  30 mins

Serving size: 2-4

Ingredients
  • 1 12 inch pizza dough*
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 8 ounces mozzarella, sliced
  • 4 ounces ricotta
  • 1 small zucchini, sliced
  • 1/4-1/2 cup fresh basil, chopped
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • optional: red pepper flakes

Instructions
  1. Preheat your oven to 450 degrees F.
  2. Spread your pizza dough directly onto a baking sheet (use flour if needed) until it’s 12 inches around.
  3. Drizzle crust with olive oil and top with minced garlic.
  4. Add mozzarella, ricotta and and zucchini slices.
  5. Bake for 10 mins on bottom rack. Place on top rack and bake for an additional 10 mins. Watch closely as all ovens are different.
  6. Remove from oven and top with fresh basil, salt and pepper and red pepper flakes, if using.
  7. Cut into 8 slices and serve immediately.

Notes
*I use organic sourdough crust that I get from a local bakery. Feel free to use what you have access to or if you’re gluten-free, I really enjoy the Simple Mills pizza crust.

3.5.3226

Change up your pizza night with this zucchini and ricotta pizza. We think we need tomato sauce, but you really don't! This combo will definitely change your mind.

Do you eat a lot of pizza? What’s your go-to quick, weeknight dinner?

The post Zucchini and Ricotta White Pizza appeared first on The Healthy Maven.



Source: http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheHealthyMaven/~3/o7gMD5aIW-w/zucchini-and-ricotta-white-pizza.html

Leave a Reply

