Watermelon Feta and Mint Quinoa Salad

A refreshing and light summer recipe for Watermelon Feta and Mint Quinoa Salad that can be enjoyed as an easy side or a hearty main dish!

A refreshing and light summer recipe for Watermelon Feta and Mint Quinoa Salad that can be enjoyed as an easy side or a hearty main dish!

A refreshing and light summer recipe for Watermelon Feta and Mint Quinoa Salad that can be enjoyed as an easy side or a hearty main dish!

I’m often asked what kind of recipes I share on the blog. Are they vegan, gluten-free, paleo? I always have a hard time answering these questions, because most of my recipes are all of these things and none of these things. It’s hard explaining to people who don’t know much about you that you don’t subscribe to a particular diet and instead focus on whole, nourishing foods.

Of course I wish that this kind of response was more conventional, but instead I usually reply with something incredibly inarticulate like “ohhhh I don’t know…the hippie organic kind?!”

But it’s true. While I don’t label my diet at all, when it comes to the kinds of foods I fill my house with, I’d say that ensuring the products are organic is my #1 priority.

It’s important to me that the foods we eat are not laden with pesticides or growth-hormones that could compromise the quality of the food. I personally prefer to eat my whole foods without a side of DDT. We actually talked about the health benefits, both for our bodies and the planet in Episode 24 of the podcast with Daniel Klein from The Perennial Plate.

A refreshing and light summer recipe for Watermelon Feta and Mint Quinoa Salad that can be enjoyed as an easy side or a hearty main dish!

Of course, I can’t always be 100% in control of everything I eat (nor do I want to be), but if it’s in our home and I’m purchasing it with my money, we go organic. Which brings us to the topic of money…

A few weeks ago C put together a family budget for us to see where most of our expenses are going. Not surprisingly, the biggest subgroup was food. Now, my food budget will always be higher than most as I’m cooking and testing recipes for the blog, but we both agreed that we’d gotten a bit too lenient when it came to our food spending. It was time to shape up.

Fortunately, I wrote a post about food shopping on a budget last year, so it was less about learning how to do it and more about actually following my own rules! Things like eating less meat and scouting for coupons are actually things I enjoy, making it easier for us to save money, without making huge sacrifices.

But that’s the thing about organics, by nature of the fact that they don’t have pesticides helping them to grow and are subject to a lot more environmental effects, it is more expensive to grow them and therefore more expensive to buy. This doesn’t mean that I’m going to stop buying organic food, but instead I just need to be a bit more strategic about it.

A refreshing and light summer recipe for Watermelon Feta and Mint Quinoa Salad that can be enjoyed as an easy side or a hearty main dish!

It was perfect timing when Kroger Family of Stores reached out to let me know that from July 9th-26th they are having a sale on organic items with over $100 in digital coupon savings! That is HUGE, friends. They actually have a great selection of organic items and on top of already being well-priced, the digital coupons they are offering are making some products even cheaper than conventional. So if the health benefits of organics don’t convince you, maybe the prices will!

Brands like Bob’s Red Mill have discount coupons available making them an awesome value when planning out your menu for the week…or you know…for making this Watermelon Feta and Mint Quinoa Salad, perhaps??? You can check out the whole selection of discounts HERE.

You guys know I’m not preachy and at the end of the day I want you to make the decisions for your health that feel right for you, but if there’s one choice I encourage you to make, it’s to try to purchase more organic options. It’s good for your health, the health of your family and the health of the planet. And for the next three weeks Kroger Family of Stores is actually making it cheaper!

Watermelon Feta and Mint Quinoa Salad

Prep time:  10 mins

Cook time:  30 mins

Total time:  40 mins

Serves: 4 as main or 6 as side

Ingredients
  • 1 cup uncooked bob’s red mill white quinoa
  • 4 cups chopped watermelon
  • 1/4 cup fresh mint, chopped
  • 1/2 cup organic feta cheese crumbles
  • optional: 1/4 cup bob’s red mill almonds, chopped
  • 1 tsp sea salt, or more to taste
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper, or more to taste

Instructions
  1. Cook the quinoa according to package instructions. Once cooked, remove from pot and set aside to cool to room temperature.
  2. In a large bowl combine quinoa, watermelon, mint, and feta cheese. Stir to combine.
  3. Add salt and pepper.
  4. Top with chopped almonds, if using.
  5. Enjoy as a main or side dish.
  6. Store leftovers in the fridge for up to one week.

A refreshing and light summer recipe for Watermelon Feta and Mint Quinoa Salad that can be enjoyed as an easy side or a hearty main dish!

Disclaimer: This is a sponsored conversation written by me on behalf of Kroger. The opinions and text are all mine. Thank you for supporting the brands that help make THM possible!

 Do you eat organic? What are your food budget saving tips?

The post Watermelon Feta and Mint Quinoa Salad appeared first on The Healthy Maven.


Source: http://www.thehealthymaven.com/2017/07/watermelon-feta-and-mint-quinoa-salad.html

Leave a Reply

